Newbie here with a ST

5pointohh

ballin' on a budget
Established Member
Well I finally broke down and traded my 2012 FX2 Supercrew in on a 2013 Focus ST. Been thinking about it for a while, and finally pulled the trigger! I was spending almost $100 a week on gas in the truck, now it should be half. The focus is a amazing DD, and it has a pair of balls too! I got the ST2 package, and love everything about the car. I am curious if theres anything I can do to make the turbo sound louder? I really dont want to void warranty now. I was thinking of having the resonator taken out in the exhaust. Has anyone tried this?

RDJ

ZERO shits given
Established Member
if you take out the resonators you will NOT make the turbo sound louder, you WILL make the exhaust sound louder

clbailey

Established Member
Factory sells a resonator delete kit. Youtube Cobb st exhaust, its the only company so far that makes a kit that doesn't sound like a 88 cavalier.

5pointohh

ballin' on a budget
Established Member
Thanks for the info. I like how quiet the car is now, I really don't want to make it any louder. Is there any other ways to make the turbos make some noise? If not, no biggie. I will just enjoy the car :banana:

clbailey

Established Member
There also a guy on youtube that put a high flow catted downpipe and factory resonator delete and stock cat back and it didn't increase the total volume too much just let you hear the turbo a bit more.

Last edited:

SVT Rob

Established Member
From what I've been reading on the ST Forums, the CAI will make both the turbo and CRV/BOV louder. It doesn't seem to improve performance, though. Most folks have noticed a decrease in performance, if anything at all.

The stock turbo is a K03, it's fairly small. This is one reason why the car can build boost at a low RPM and it makes peak power around 5500 rpm. Put it in 5th or 6th around 35mph, and mat the gas pedal. You'll see 20psi at 1500rpm.

5pointohh

ballin' on a budget
Established Member