Newbie here

Lightningstrike

Hi guys! I finally registered after lurking for many months because I just picked up a red 2002 Lightning. My father has been a Ford employee for 25 years and I *managed* to purchase the truck on A-plan with his code. There is nothing quite like saving almost $5000 off of the sticker price. A great feeling indeed! :)

I look forward to being an active participant on your board and hope I can contribute much in the future. For now, I will attempt to learn more about performance modifications and general maintenance on these incredible vehicles.

My name is Laurence and I live in the Dallas/Ft Worth metroplex. I am what seems to be a fifth-year senior at the Univ. of North Texas. :rolleyes:

If you don't mind me asking, how much do you pay for insurance? I'm just hoping I can hang on a few more months until I turn 25!

Last question: It appears that JDM is the place to go for mods. Looking on his site, I noticed a 'line mod'. What exactly does that do? Would you recommend his Stage 1 (?) kit? How many miles would you wait before modding your new truck? And finally, did you experience any warranty shenanigans when you went to have service work?

Thanks! I apologize for the long post!

Don's Bolt

Blown Stang
Established Member
Hi Laurence

Welcome, You will love the new L. As far as JDM all his stuff is awesome, I am a big fan of his products and his engineering skills.

The line mod increases the preasure of the fluid in the transmision. It firms up the shifts which in my opinion increases the life of the transmision.

FlaSVT

Moderator - 2nd Gen Forum
Established Member
Lightningstrike - Welcome to the site. You'll really enjoy the Lightning. It's a great truck.

No doubt JDM offers so great stuff for our trucks. There are also some other vendors around that have some good products as well. Look around and talk with some of the guys and you'll get some good info on what works and what doesn't.