Newbie Starts

ChronicReign

Chrome bumper your face!
Established Member
Alright, I will be the first to admit that I am still a newb when it comes to racing. I have yet to take my truck out to the track, because honestly, I don't know how to start from the line yet.

All of my tries have been from a dead stop. I have tried just slamming the gas down, obviously that didn't work, I just spun.

So then I tried rolling into the gas, and putting it WOT at about 20mph, still I would fishtail back and forth.

Even at about 40mph if I slammed down the gas it felt like I was skiing. Whats the deal? How do I get a good start without spinning like a madman. I know traction bars would help, and so would slicks, but I want to be able to do it with what I got.

BTW, my mods are SCT Xcal2, Airraid intake, accufab throttlebody, 4# lower, straight pipes. I am running stock rims, and I just got Nitto 555DRs put on the back.

Any help? Thanks guys.

BLWN DSG

Vettillac
Established Member
you are spinning that bad with the DR's at 40?????? I have the stock F1's and don't spin at all really from 40. From 20 I spin a good bit but am able to drive out of it. Is there any moisture in the air or something?

Bootbox

Established Member
Just roll into it nice and steady from the line. Not to the floor instantly, but not slowly either. Just nice and steady till you're to the floor.

The track will have much more traction available than the street and you won't spin as badly, if at all.

CHUXSVT

HELL YEAH I STREET RACE!
Established Member
you cant realy get out of the hole in a hurry, because these trucks have a shit load of tourque.and that bitc...jst wants to spin. ease it out of the hole with minimum tire spin, then slam on it.you have to practice to get it right.put your tire preassure at 20-22 psi,when racing.

ChronicReign

Chrome bumper your face!
Established Member