OMG! Another stereo question(problem)

x_man586

Going to UTI
Established Member
My subs quit hitting on the way home. The amp has power the rca and speaker wires are not broken. So either the amp is not passing along the signal, or the stereo is not. I have an Alpine amp and deck and all of the settings have not changed. My question is can I check the stereo rca outputs with a voltmeter. If so what voltage should I be looking for. If it is not the stereo how can I check to see if the amp is working correctly. The closest stereo shop is 1/2 hour away and I won't be able to go for a week.

I would appreciate any help.

x_man586

Going to UTI
Established Member
I figured the subs were fine. I don't know how to tell if the stereo is sending the signals to the amp.

x_man586

Going to UTI
Established Member
I have a y-connector 1/8 male headphone on one side and 2 male rca's on the other. Can I use my mp3 player to check the amp.

NA97GT

Established Member
Im a professional installer. From my experience if the amp stopped working while driving, its may be a power or ground problem. Check the power and ground connections at the amp with either a multimeter, test light, light bult etc. I can walk you through anything else once you check that. ( btw lots of amps may light up with only the remote wire hooked up)

Last edited:

x_man586

Going to UTI
Established Member
ok. Thanks for the tip about the light. I will double check everything tomorrow. I didn't have much time to mess with it today, it rained off and on.

suaveflooder

500 hp grocery getter
Established Member
Im a professional installer. From my experience if the amp stopped working while driving, its may be a power or ground problem. Check the power and ground connections at the amp with either a multimeter, test light, light bult etc. I can walk you through anything else once you check that. ( btw lots of amps may light up with only the remote wire hooked up)