Opinions/Advice on attempting to get an Auto Loan

Got Boost?

Established Member
I just recently turned 18 and I'm wanting to purchase a DD pretty bad. I haven't had an opportunity to establish a credit history, obviously. I'm trying to find a way to get financed for the car. I'm looking to buy something '05+ since I've heard its easier to get financed on something that's less than 5 years old. I really don't have anyone to co-sign right now since my dad doesn't want any more loans on his history and the rest of my family has trashed their credit. I'm looking to purchase from a lot since I think that would make it easier to get financed. I'm looking for something around 10K and will be willing to put up to 25% down. I have two jobs currently, one of which I have been working for 2 years now. I have had a checking account with an active history for over 2 years as well. Any ideas or advice? I really need to get into a car that can be driven comfortably everyday.

thomas91169

# of bans = 5203
Established Member
youll probably need a cosigner.

with the newer vehicles, due to the purchase price and your "weak" credit history, this still may not be enough.

Id look for an older vehicle, 2000-2005ish. You can buy a 99-04 GT in excellent condition for under $10k all day long, and they are very reliable as long as the previous owner didnt destroy it.

Quik Z06

Established Member
Just go appy when you find a car, what's the worst that can happen? Just let them know your situation and im sure they can help you. Having a good size down payment will help, everyone needs to start somewhere.

epix

Established Member
I had issue right out of college, was making good money, but had little credit history. I ended up trying our local Credit Union.. walked in and talked to them, they called me 20 minutes later saying I was approved for the amount I wanted.

Skip going to banks and try your credit union. I wasn't even a member when I went to them.

snakebite6

Established Member