Overheating

04COBRAinJapan

Established Member
Need help with this overheating problem. I pulled the thermostat and it was indeed broken. The copper shaft separated. No problem odered a replacement, installed and no workee. Car overheated again, seems like the new thermostat is not opening. Also, the heat did not work with the new thermostat in. I removed the thermostat and let the car run. No overheating and heat worked fine. Is my water pump bad? whats the possibility of another bad thermostat (highly unlikely) Im in Japan, so it takes about a week to get parts here from the states. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Did you refill the system through the crossover tube? Did you burp the system? The cooling systems in these cars are very finicky. You can't have air in the system.

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
did you put the thermostat in upside down?

You can verify the thermostat is broken by putting it in a pot of boiling water and watch to see if it opens up.

Other possibilities are a bad water pump or a system with a lot of air in it. If you are confident that the system is burped properly and that your thermostat is opening, I'd replace the pump.

Last edited:

04COBRAinJapan

Established Member
Im sure the stat is installed correctly. However, I did not service thru the crossover tube. where is it? Would air in the system cause this problem? It really seems like the stat is not opening because i can run the car with the cap off and it never burps.The water in the resevoir just sits there and begins to overflow once car gets warm. The fans are working fine.

Im sure the stat is installed correctly. However, I did not service thru the crossover tube. where is it? Would air in the system cause this problem? It really seems like the stat is not opening because i can run the car with the cap off and it never burps.The water in the resevoir just sits there and begins to overflow once car gets warm. The fans are working fine.