Plumbing question

harry gilbert

Diehard Ford Fan
Established Member
Went to a plumbing supply house that caters to professional plumbers to buy a new faucet. The older fellow behind the counter commented that big box stores like Lowes and Home Depot sell "seconds" rather than prime merchandise. Anyone know if this is true, or was he just blowing smoke up my ass?

wvmystichrome

Established Member
I know most of their lumber is grade 2. It will show it stamped on the lumber. I do not know about the plumbing supplies. All 3 of my bathrooms and my kitchen has stuff from Lowes. The only bad thing to happen was the seals/inside of my garbage disposal rotted out and leaked within 6 -7 years. Everything else has been good.

oilwell1415

Established Member
I am a senior test engineer at a lab that does testing and certification on plumbing products. I would not consider the products sold at the box stores seconds. Yes, they are cheaper than what you can buy at a plumbing supply store, but that is because they are either designed to be less expensive or they have purchased a warehouse full of last year's model for next to nothing. The important things like the valves and water contacting items are all the same. Every fixture gets tested to the same criteria regardless of whether it is a $20 model from a box store or a $20k model from Waterworks. Is there a difference in quality between the two? Absolutely! You get what you pay for. However, the difference in quality between Delta from Lowe's and Delta from the supply store is at best negligible. If you see, feel or notice a difference at all it is probably just the luck of the draw. Buy at the box store with confidence.