Possibly a MEPS disqualification. Need opinions.

faststang87

Smoke Em!
Established Member
Hey guys,

I have a couple of questions for you considering a possible disqualification. Little back story... I was in the Police Academy in 2008 and dislocated my shoulder, I finished the police Academy and ended up having surgery on my shoulder, it did not tear my rotator cuff and it was a minor surgery, nothing bad. I went two years before my shoulder came out again. I did physical therapy and it was again fine, occasionally it will sublex (sp?) but I have full range of motion and the doctor said with strength it wont be as likely to come out again. My shoulder does not hurt or anything, my questions is can I get a wavier? Keep in mind I have been a cop for about 4 years now. So I have done defensive tactics, worked out and done a lot of things with my shoulder with no problems. My Orthopedic Doctor who did the surgery said I am good and can get in. I have been wanting to serve for a long time. This is actually my dream. However I don't want something as stupid as my shoulder to stop me. I just need some truthful answers or see if anyone has similar experience. On another forum someone had three surgeries and still got in. So does it depend on the MEPS doctor? I appreciate any answers you guys can give me.

Thanks! :banana:

Adam

98 Saleen Cobra

Established Member
What branch of the military?? In all honest I don't think it'll be a problem.. I've seen them let in people with full blown knee surgery and stuff.. I think you'll be just fine.

faststang87

Smoke Em!
Established Member
I appreciate it man, the branch is National Guard. I am keeping in contact with my recruiter and he says that he does not think it will be a problem, but he will have to see. He did say however that it might require a wavier.

faststang87

Smoke Em!
Established Member