Pro Vs. Joe

Vae_Victus

Established Member
Hey everyone,

Well I have a slight dilemma. I don't know whether to take my car to a pro and have it fully detailed or to tackle it myself and do it all from scratch. My concerns are the cost of buying everything that I would need since i don't have anything but a wash bucket and whatever i use to wash my car. Another problem is that my car is black (04 cobra) and I have minor swirl marks that i want GONE ASAP! I have never use a PC but know how to clay and wax by hand....tho i am quite the newb still. lol
I have many questions and was hoping you guys can help me out:

How often do you polish (using PC) your car?
How long does it take to fully detail a car (including minor paint corrections)?
Once I have successfully removed all swirl marks...what is the best way to prevent them from reoccurriing?
What is the difference between Cleaner Wax and Carnuaba Wax? (told u i was a newb lol)

To be honest I find it overwhelming when I read the posts on here about all these different compounds, sealants, glazes, waxes, pads etc etc...there is just sooooooo much to learn that I'm not sure I can dedicate that kind of time and effort to learn it all. I love washing my car and detailing it myself but only when I am confident I wont damage the car or its surface. Sometimes I think its just easier and SAFER to just pay a local detailer $250 to remove whatever swirls and imperfections I have and then just maintain the car myself till it needs another polishing/buffing job. I assume once a car is detailed it should remain swirl free for at least a year...that is with good maintenance and washing/claying/waxing every few months.

Sorry guys i know its a long read but any help and/or advice is most appreciated.

Vae Victus

Black Talon

KnightOfTheOldRepublic
Established Member
I do it myself, but if you aren't sure about it take it to a good Detailer.
I can detail my car in 3 hours.

Tom's_03SVT

Established Member