Procharger and Kenne Bell guys...Muchas-Helpas

98 Yeller' SVT

Perpetual bottle filler
Established Member
Procharger and Kenne Bell guys...please help

Hey guys..newbie here,
I have a 98 cobra with the only mods being Bassani o/r X and Borla side-exhaust. ( 3.73 or 4.10's coming soon...not sure if 4.10's would be too low with a blower??)
I am having a hard time deciding between a Kenne Bell 1500 (6 lb.) with a boost-a-pump....and a Procharger (6 lb.) with a 2 core intercooler (not the self-contained one, I have heard about too many replaced seals) I will have the car custom tuned, dynoed, and chipped regardless of which one I go with.
This is my garage kept, weekend driven baby and the #1 factor is to keep my motor SAFE and detonation free....PERIOD. I was set on a procharger but the chrome Kenne Bell is sweet-looking as he**, alot easier to install, and I have heard it cant be beat for fun and instant boost on the street.
Unless I am mistaken, they both will add 40-50 % (or 90-100 h.p.) but which one would have the lower track times? The procharger is supposed to run the 1/4 on my car in 12.9 (stock w/3.73 and street tires). I dont know about the Kenne Bell.
Anyone running the Kenne Bell on a 96-98 SVT with some insight or track times.
My goal (eventually) is to have primarily a "corner carving street car " that can still lay down a 11.99 1/4 mile to whip some LT-1 ass.

Sorry for the 1 meeeeellion questions...ANY thoughts ???

:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:

Last edited:

Blown306

Established Member
I would say the Kenne Bell is the way to go (although I'm slightly biased :rolling: )

1. Contstant and linear boost from 2000 rpm to redline (not RPM dependent)
2. Much much easier to install
3. You won't need 4.10's...3.73's would be fine (see point #1)
4. Whisper quiet stealth/sleeper operation
5. No intercooler
6. Much more streetable than a centrifical style (see point #1 again)
7. GOBS of low end torque (#1 one more time)

CONS