Project número uno: Tex's 8-track...

Tex Arcana

Established Member
Waaal, it be tahm tuh instawl dat dar new ray-deee-oh!!
yeehaw.png

I wuz wantin' me one of dem dar aight-tracks; but dem damn fokkers at da Beast Buy warnt gonna co-ooper-ate none!!!
raydeeoh.png

Of course, all of this was happening back in March (hey, I been BUSY!!), and the very first moment when I went to move my truck around to the garage, IT WAS FOKKING DEAD!! I had been keeping the battery alive for a few months now with a power-point solar charger; but I forgot to plug it in over the weekend (I had some vacation I was using), and it was mega-dead. So, after unsuccessfully trying to jump it, I yanked it and took it to the nearest Interstate Battery locale, to get this nice little result:
IMG_3908.jpg

Place was so new, they didn't even have their registers fully set up:
dZtrR.jpg

:lol:

So, new battery in, truck around back, let's prep the garage:

"bench" set up (old steel/laminate table top on a pair of sawhorses), having to fix the damn new chinee-knockoff "dremel"
IMG_3910.jpg

IMG_3911.jpg

Got the retracting power cord and work light set up too:
IMG_3912.jpg

Excellent lighting is a must!!
IMG_3913.jpg

As are good glasses for us olde fartes who have "long-arm disease":
IMG_3914.jpg

Let's not forget the über-useful and absolutely necessary Weller Porta-Sol kit--21 years old and counting:
IMG_3916.jpg

Tex Arcana

Established Member
Now the disassembly...

Note the somewhat-gutted dash:
IMG_3917.jpg

Mother puss bucket: talk about major flakage going on!! :mad::
IMG_3918.jpg

Well, fsck that shyt, off it goes for later repair action:
IMG_3920.jpg

And off comes the radio support:
IMG_3921.jpg

IMG_3922.jpg

Dash thoroughly gutted:
IMG_3923.jpg

IMG_3925.jpg

Tex Arcana

Established Member
Back to the bench...

The support, in all it's understated glory:
IMG_3927.jpg