Question about lowering springs

Mikesan

First Mustang
Established Member
I bought and received some Ford Racing lowering springs. All I'm looking to do is lower the stance. Any additional benefit is just extra. I'm going to have a shop install them. In addition to getting an alignment after they are installed is there anything else I need to buy or have done? Looks like suspensions can get pretty tricky. I'm just looking for a simple lowering. I expect the ride will be a little harsher but handling will improve some. Will any "geometry" get thrown off by just installing the springs? Thanks for any help with this, I'm, a total newbie at suspension work.

LR 01 Cobra

Founding Member
Established Member
Lowering your car will change geomentry, It will move your rear end out of alignment, you’ll also need new shocks and struts down the road, it will also change your pinion angle.
If your going to do it right you can’t just change springs. My 2 cents!
If you want more info PM me I’ll send you my Phone number and we can talk about it!

Tim

GTG

Looking for a Money Pit
Established Member
LR 01 Cobra said:
Lowering your car will change geomentry, It will move your rear end out of alignment, you’ll also need new shocks and struts down the road, it will also change your pinion angle.
If your going to do it right you can’t just change springs. My 2 cents!
If you want more info PM me I’ll send you my Phone number and we can talk about it!

Tim

When I lowered my Mach, I asked about it changing the pinion angle. The shop owner told me it doesn't change the pinion angle, its more like putting a couple of fat chicks in the trunk, or your luggage or whatever. He continued to tell me that people get confused about what pinion angle does and when you really need to worry about it. Worrying about adjusting the pinion angle is more for drag racers so they can fine tune their launch. Again, this is all what the shop owner told me.