Question for motorcycle (sportbike) people

CobraJohn01

Established Member
With the crazy cost of gas we must contend with and the desire I've always had to get a bike, I'm thinking of getting one in the spring. I would be a first time sportbike rider. My only similar experience riding has been on smaller sized dirt bikes and a 50cc scooter my girlfriend and I used to ride around town and stuff. So bascially I have no usefull experience for a real motorcycle. I know you shouldn't start off really big, and I know all about taking safety courses and stuff. I know you can ride as cautiously as possible and still get screwed by some schmuck who can't drive. My questions are pretty simple and basic and was hoping someone could help me find out some info. I'm looking at spending no more than $4000 on a bike and I'm looking for something in the range of late-90's to early-2000's.

First off, what I'm wondering is in order from best to not as good, for a begginer bike, how would you rate these. I think I know how you all would rate them but I'm asking just in case. Here's the 4 bikes I'm the most interested in after doing some looking online on traderonline for pricing and the style that I like. Again, the range I'm looking at is later '90s to early '00s

Suzuki GS500E
Honda CBR600
Suzuki SV650
Suzuki Katana 600

My second question is, doesn anyone know what kind of MPG these bike might get me. I would be doing mostly city riding with some highway riding mixed in here and there. I wouldn't be a speedster and I'm not interested in racing or anything like that. Just transportation to get from A to B that will use less gas and maybe be more fun.

Any help anyone can give would be greatly appreciated. I've only got a few posts but I've been a reader of these forums since 2001 when I got my Cobra (which I have since had to get rid of. :( ) and I know there are some people who know what they're talking about. :beer:

Last edited:

TriPodRacing

U MAD?
Established Member