Rear diff leak

masalacobra

01 Cobra
Established Member
My rear diff is leaking and I'm thinking it's the front seal. Had one ordered from Ford and gonna be doing it this weekend....

I've never done this before so I need some advice on 'how to' and maybe some helpful hints..

My buddy that helped me with all my work just left the state for a new job...so I'm tapped out of tools and a place to work on my car. Was fun while it lasted.

Any help is appreciated, thanks

2001 Cobra with 68,000 miles
4:10 gears

masalacobra

01 Cobra
Established Member
is that right?

VirtualSVT: the front seals usually don't leak. The rear diff cover seal leaks quite often.

Well when I get home from work I'll upload some pictures I took when the car was in the air..... The way it seemed to me was it was leaking from the front and trailing back towards the rear of the diff, at first glance looking from the back it would seem the rear diff. seal on the cover is leaking but when jacking it up I can see the rear suspension bar, my exhaust pipes and the drive shaft coated in crap. So to me just figured it was the front seal.

Anyways in a few hrs I'll get home and upload some pics hopefully some of you guys will get a better picture on what's going on to help me out better.....

Last edited:

01greycobra

Built and Blown!
Established Member
after my gears were installed mine was leaking because one of the axle shaft seals got messed up when putting the half shaft back into the diff.....maybe something to take a look at. the part costed me $10 and my girlfriends dad installed it for free in his garage (he has a lift) as compared to the $150 that the dealership that did the install wanted for the job.

masalacobra

01 Cobra
Established Member
Well I never got around to uploading those pictures...maybe tonight I might have more time. Will let you guys know when it's up.

masalacobra

01 Cobra
Established Member
This is of the rear of the diff...looking forward:

1005071106cy6.jpg