Refurbish window moldings?

USAF 93Cobra

Established Member
Greetings everyone,

Does anyone know how to refurbish window moldings? Unfortunately my car had to spend some time in the hot weather and it faded my moldings.

I know 5.0 resto sells replacement parts but I was hoping some one might have an alternate method.

Thanks in advance,
Lee

93Cobra#2771

SVT God
Established Member
Another Lee on this board with a 93 Cobra? Geeeez... :D

Anyway, on to your question. Both 5.0 resto and Steeda have "overlays" that go on over badly pitted/damaged window moldings (I assume you are talking about the 1/4 windows). I have no experience with them, so I can't vouch for how good they are.

How bad are your moldings? If they are just faded (and not pitted/rough), I have had great luck using a polish called "Wenol". It is actually a metal polish, but it is pretty fine (they have two versions, orange tube is the original, and blue tube is the ultra fine stuff). It works great as long as the surface is smooth and just faded. If it is rough, don't use it, as you'll never get all the polish removed from the little pits.

If your moldings are pitted and heavily damaged, then the polish won't work. I've know people to sand the moldings down till they are smooth (after masking off the areas around to avoid damage), the repaint them satin black with a flexible paint (such as bumper paint). That has proven successful in several cases I can think of.

BTW, did you get the private message I sent you? :D

93_Snake

93 Cobra worshipper
Established Member