Rotary Vs DA

Mach1USMC

SVT Powered
Established Member
I've been a pro detailer for a while now but I've never used a rotary. I have a Flex 3401 that I'm very happy with and get great results. How much of a leap is there between the Flex and say a DeWalt DWP849X? I have great technique so that's not an issue. Is it just a matter of keeping great technique and being extra aware of the paint (along with media) or is there a whole lot more to it?

Mach1USMC

SVT Powered
Established Member
Sooooo - anywho. I'm having my Flex sent to me. But all you detailers out there- if I was to get a Rotary which is the best bang for the buck?

POPPAJ

Established Member
If you've got a 3401 and it's working well for you why would you change to a rotary? :shrug: I've got a 3401, 2GG, a PC and three rotarys. Rarely use the rotarys for any thing than headlights and small areas where I use a 4" pad.

Cant resist? Get a cheap one from HF just to try out or a used setup.

Sounds like spring fever!

hoamskilet

Established Member
I picked up the dewalt rotary just to have available if needed (I also have a boat that I'm going to buff out and from what I've read a rotary/wool is a must for gel coat) and it just feels like a chore to use compared to a good DA. I didnt have any problems damaging paint or anything, but I just don't find it as enjoyable to use. I use my rupes for the bulk of my work and leave a 4" pad on the rotary so I can use it on the small areas.

I haven't used other rotaries to compare, but the dewalt is a nice unit. It's smooth, quiet, not terribly heavy, and pretty reasonably priced

Merlinii

Worlds Shiniest HD F-150!
Established Member
Sooooo - anywho. I'm having my Flex sent to me. But all you detailers out there- if I was to get a Rotary which is the best bang for the buck?

You already have a 3401 (and you like it) then why not keep the same brand and get a Flex PE14-2-150