Safe Power Level for 2014 GT500 w/stock block??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherrodmustang

Established Member
I have a 2014 GT500 I picked up a few weeks ago. I have order a few new parts in the name of getting more horspeower from the car! I am new to the GT500 and the 5.8 motor and the amount of power it can make and what is considered safe. I have seen most are saying 750rwhp is a good number to stay at or lower with the stock block, as rod failures are common.

I have order a 2.4 pulley, metco bracket w/90mm pulley, TR6 plugs, ARH 1 7/8 headers and Off-Road mid pipe, XBA elbow/ KB 168mm TB and JLT Super Big Air CAI. All in for making some more power with the 5.8 motor on 93 octane.

What kinda power levels will this be at with these mods? Are they safe with stock block?

07 Black Beauty

Established Member
I would stay in the 750 rwhp zone, but a lot depends on driving habits. Are you going to be racing the car or just using it as a weekend cruiser? The motors are pretty bulletproof but they have their limits.

BOSSPOWER

Established Member
Are you going to daily drive the car? If so, I would stay in the low 700's range.

Manuel

Blackdevil77

Established Member
Different guys will tell you different things. Some say 800 ish rwhp, but I wouldn't constantly beat on it with that kind of power. Some say 750 rwhp, which I think is a very safe range for this car. Me personally, I'm gonna stay right around 700rwhp. That's enough for me. I personally like leaving a little extra headroom, even if it's redundant and unnecessary.

07 Black Beauty

Established Member
Different guys will tell you different things. Some say 800 ish rwhp, but I wouldn't constantly beat on it with that kind of power. Some say 750 rwhp, which I think is a very safe range for this car. Me personally, I'm gonna stay right around 700rwhp. That's enough for me. I personally like leaving a little extra headroom, even if it's redundant and unnecessary.