Savings account question

mikecobra01

Established Member
Latley Ive been thinking about trying to find a savings account that I can put some money into so my money will gain interest over a period of time. Not alot of money, maybe like $2000 or so.

I have no clue on how the stock market works, or what to invest in, or anything like that. And Id rather not put my money into something that I would take a chance on losing it.

I found account with Wells Fargo called a Money Market account. I was just wondering if any of yall have expirence with an account like this or not? They say the money in the account compounds everyday, what exactly is that? It says it has a APY of 0.05%, and a bonus of 0.10%, is this good?

Sorry if these are stupid questions lol, im a newb at this kind of stuff.

Thanks guys

MysticRob

Established Member

verbal

Established Member
You are better off with an online savings account at the moment. .05%-.15% is nothing and you will barely see any interest on $2000. Online accounts line Ally seem to be paying the best rate right now at .9% with no fees. TIAA has a new savings account paying 1% but it is not open to new customers at the moment. There is also something called Kasasa checking that is paying 2.5% but you have to have debit card transactions every month to get that rate.

SonicDTR

Wasn't me.
Established Member
Premium Member
Waste of time, Save up the cash in your bank account and put excess towards debt.

Paying 6% on debt while gaining 2% interest on a savings account doesnt make sense to me.

So my vote is either invest it aggressively to gain more than any debt interest rate, or just use it to pay off debt.

50 Proof

Established Member
What are your financial goals? Do you simoly want to stash $2,000 away for rainy day emergencies? Do you have any high interest debt? Are you tryng to grow your money?