Scandinavian Brake Systems (SBS)

Terry Moenich

Established Member
Anyone using Scandinavian Brake Systems (SBS) pads?

They have 3 grades; Pro Touring; Pro Track; Pro Race

Even the touring pad is supposed to out-brake the hawk Blue's and be easier on the rotors.

I have no experience with these so I am looking for input.

If you have experience, which pad, likes and dislikes

Is anyone interested in a group purchase price. As of now I have no ideas what they cost, but will know tomorrow.

Thanks for your input.

toofast4u

Versatilist
Established Member
I currently have SBS touring pads on my 03 and they are not cleaner then the stock pads and have a nasty squeak when they are under operating temperature. Before I broke them in they didn't squeak at all, but after the break-in they squeak a lot. Also on more then one occasion an emergency stop early in the morning with the brakes cold yielded very poor brake response which is what I would expect from track pads not street pads. Gary, Bingo13, is also having the same problem now. We most likely are overheating them, but if that is the case they are not suitable for our cars.

Bosko

Established Member
I got the touring pads and they Squeek! When ever I come to a stop they squeek makes me think im driving a POS car... Im not buying them again... If they didnt squeek then I would have no problems.

Last edited:

cito

Official Kumho Shredder
Established Member
5.0 Magazine did a comparison of brake pads and the SBS did very well. The best numbers on that test were for the in-between set. They outstopped (repeatedly) hawk and some other brand. I think they also said that baer is going exclusively to sbs pads for their brake sets. No personal experience, but I was thinking of them for the next autocross season.

Bingo13

Established Member
Originally posted by cito