Sell me on the Flex L3403

SVT_BERTO

Established Member
Hey guys,

I've got a Porter Cable 7424xp that I've had for about 2 years. I've got a fair amount of paint correction to do (swirling and light scratches) since the previous owner probably dried the car with bath towels :nonono: I plan on picking up some new 6.5" pads and some M105 and M205 if not some Wolfgangs Swirl Remover. Anyway, I've wondered what the next step up of from my PC would be and I see a lot of guys out there using the Flex polishers.

So what am I missing out on? What makes it so much better than my PC? I'm not a pro by any means so I like that fact that the PC lets me play it safe and not burn through my clear coat. Now, I have a little more common sense than to over work an area too long without letting it cool down a bit but, the PC give me peace of mind.

MattZ28

Established Member
The L3403 is a high speed rotary. If you're not experienced with one, you will most likely burn a few edges during the "learning" process.

What you should be looking at is the XC3401 VRG. This is still a dual action with an oscillating motion like your Porter Cable, but also has a forced rotation like the L3403. However, the forced rotation is not fast enough to cause any worry in terms of paint damage. You'll get much more torque and power, with better overall correcting ability than the 7424XP with this machine. Less vibration, much better overall build quality, integrated backing plate design, a better power cord, and a variable speed trigger are some of the other "nicer" qualities that the XC3401 VRG offers.

http://www.lethalperformance.com/ca...bital-polisher-dual-action-rotary-buffer.html

Feel free to give me a call here at 877-253-8425 and I'll be glad to assist you and discuss things further.

TransAxle

Shine Auto Salon
Established Member