Some advice for the drag strip?

Chris_5.0

Established Member
Hey Guys, This is my first time posting to this side of the forum on SVTP, just looking for some advice on the dragstrip. Specifically with launching.

First of all -- details about my car:
- 2011 5.0
- 3.73s
- 6MT
- JLT Intake
- Bama Tune
- Resonator Delete
- GT500 AB

With these same mods, back in the Spring, I had a PB of 12.5 @ 116 at my club's local drag day in MD. The weather was perfect, leaving the tree at idle, and running on the stock 245 all-seasons. They're doing it again in a couple weeks and I know with the proper driver mod, I can get a better time.

My best 60' from that day is 2.02 leaving at idle. I have seen stock Coyotes leave the tree on a properly treated track at 1.8. So, my question is, what can I do to get that kind of 60' time?

This time around I'll have 255 summer tires which will help with grip, especially if I warm them up a bit. So what do you think guys? What can I do different to get my overall ET down?

**For your reference, below is my best time-slip from this Spring.

image.jpg

LT1Squirrel

Established Member
I've cut 1.9's on a proper treated track (after a pro stock event) with a supercharged fwd car... its difficult with street tires because its inconsistent, but that trap looks healthy and especially in the northeast, youll see negative DA within weeks

kcsvt94l

1D 10 T Error
Established Member
1st thing I would do is reach out to shaun@aed and get a better tune for that sucker. really need dr's or slicks to get much of a 60' time out of these cars. (Slicks are recommended for manuals as they'll absorb some of the abuse instead of your drivetrain) but yeah, about that tune if you're set on Bama atleast make them datalog it for you.

Chris_5.0

Established Member