Storing the R

1Fast R

Question: We will be getting our new trailer in a few weeks and were wondering if it would be OK to store the R inside the trailer while the trailer is parked outside for the winter? What do you think?

Bill & Vicki

Andy M

Established Member
I am not a mechanic, but I have been around mechanics in my family since a very young age, and I have worked on my cars for as long as I can remember. Here is my take on this... someone who is more qualified can certainly step in?..

I don't think this is a problem if you take proper precautions:

1) drain the gas tank and/or put in a gasoline stabilizer/anti-freeze to prevent possible problems with the fuel system

2) tires - I would put it up on blocks if possible to prevent flatspotting the tires

3) oil - you might also consider draining the oil out of the crankcase ( just remember to fill it again in the springtime - DUH?!)

Only other thing to worry about is the potential for someone to come in and steal the entire rig - trailer AND R!! :( :cryying:

Anyone else have thoughts on this?..

Cobra-R

Established Member
Originally posted by 1Fast R
Question: We will be getting our new trailer in a few weeks and were wondering if it would be OK to store the R inside the trailer while the trailer is parked outside for the winter? What do you think?

Bill & Vicki

I keep one of my cars in the trailer as you described. I actually think it's a very good place to store it, with the wood floor you don't get the moisture sitting under the car like you can get from concrete. This is the second year of doing this and I have seen no problems.

Brian

Andy M

Established Member
Originally posted by 1Fast R

Bill & Vicki
Which trailer did you guys buy?? one from Haulmark possibly?? www.haulmark.com

HAMMRHEAD

Established Member
Just sure to protect your R from our furry little friends looking for a warm Winter home!!! :bash:

1Fast R