Strut tower brace for 03?

postban

...rollin on 20's
Established Member
I have sub-frames on it now but will it need the strut tower brace?

I plan on doing exhaust soon and pullies/chip post-warranty and that is about it.

Is strut tower a longevity thing like sub-frames or only required over a certain power level?

(sorry guys, I'm a chassis noob):shrug:

toofast4u

Versatilist
Established Member
It would be classified more as a longevity thing like subframes and lower k-member brace. It ties the front together to minimize strut mount movement during hard turns. Not usually seen on mustangs but you can also install rear-strut-tower braces which will tie the rear pillars together for the same reason.

Here is a link to Maximum Motorsport they make some of the best suspension gear for Mustangs. Also the design they show is what we are going to need to use since we have the blower all the way against the firewall.
http://www.maximummotorsports.com/stb.html

SVTyballz

Established Member
It wouldn't hurt to have one, but it's not really necessary or required. The problem is going to be hood clearance. Not sure if there is enough room for anyone to design a brace that would fit between the blower and the hood.

gary

OH3Cobra

HP is my vice
Established Member
Strut tower
Kenny Brown has made one. I'm having it installed on Thursday.

Robertson Racin, I too live in Indy and am considering having KB do some work on my 03 Vert. Extereme Matrix subs, but had not considered a tower brace. Do you have the subs? Any reply with your experience would be great. Thanks

Robertson Racin

All American Muscle
Established Member
Strut tower

OH3 Cobra, I bought a kit from them, Sub-Frame connectors, Tower brace, and 1 other part(that I can't seen to recall) They will all be intalled this Thursday. I will be going to the track Saturday. ;-)

docs03

Established Member
strut tower brace