Suspension Problem

SVT1999

Livin' Life
Established Member
Well the issue is i have a knocking noise when i hit bumps. Or sometimes bumpy pavement. It is more when I am on bad roads than just a single bump like a speed bump. It sounds like the strut towers are clunking really bad. I have the car lowered with Eibach springs and Bilstein Struts/shocks. The car has 130k miles on it and is driven daily. Could it be steering bushings? Bad strut? Some kind of bushing not installed with the CC plate? I am not a very mechanically inclined person but understand the basics, so please no big fancy terms when replying back ,LOL.
It just sounds so solid when it hits. It feels like it might break something. So far 2 different mechanics have not been able to hear the noise.

ANY ADVISE WOULD BE APPRECIATED!

VNEMUS

Established Member
It could be one of several different things, some of which you mentioned. The only way you are going to find out is to check it out. I would jack up each side of the front end and with the wheels on, grab ahold of them and check for play.

Side to side play usually means the outer tie rod is bad. Up and down play usually means a worn ball joint. Remove the front wheels and visually inspect the tie rods and ball joints for play. While you're there, visually inspect the control arm bushings to see if the rubber is chunked up. You should do the same for the steering rack bushings as well. Make sure that steering rack bolts are tight. Visually check your struts to see if there are any leaks. Inspect those sway bar end link bushings too. If all those things check out fine, it could also be a worn wheel bearing, in which you would also feel play in the wheel. With a flat head screw driver, pry the rubber axle dust cover off and get a 35mm socket and re-torque the nut to 250 ft/lbs.