Swapping to C-Heads from B-Heads on Teksid Block many questions.

bassahaulic

Established Member
A little back story first.

Car is a 98 GT, Auto. That has been Teksid Block with 98 Cobra heads/intake swapped along with a Pro-Motion built trans. I want to go S/C, goal is 650-700 whp on pump gas, and I much prefer the options the C-Heads offer, along with their power advantage.

I can get some 99 C-Heads from my friend for a great deal, the idea is have them ported/polished with over sized valves and to swap cams.

1. My friend says I should keep my 98 Cobra cams I have in my B-Heads and re-use them in the 99 C-Heads I'm picking up from him. Is this true or should I use something else?

2. Where is a good place to pick up internals? I need crank/rods/pistons.

3. What cc piston do I need to go with, and "roughly" how much boost will I need to achieve my goal with said piston?

4. If you have any other ideas, please, feel 100% to throw them in. This is my first time going this far into a car, I've done everything except engine build at this point so I'm kind of lost and 98% of my friends are LS guys so I'm alone too. lol

Thanks for any advice!

nomoretickets

Established Member
96-98 intake cams will produce more power than any of the 99-04 4v cobra intake cams. exhaust cams are all about the same from 96-04.

Last edited:

97snakebite

Established Member
96-98 intake cams will produce more power than any of the 99-04 4v cobra intake cams. exhaust cams are all about the same from 96-98.

what he said... stick the 96-98 intake cams.. find a good used 96-04 cobra crank and slap in some mmr manley rod/piston combo and you are set.. as far as piston CC goes where are you located???? is E85 readily available?

Last edited:

mr. b_98GT

Established Member
1. 98 cams will be ideal for the 99 c heads. If you can swing it, the later version 9 thread heads are better. Look up a head cooling mod for the 99 heads. Cobra Engineering and MMR make good kits.