TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS

NDZ28

Established Member
I HAD A CHANCE TO DRIVE MY FIRST 03 COBRA. HOWEVER THE TRANSMISSION SEEMED TO HAVE A PROBLEM IN SHIFTING FROM 2-3. WITH CLUTCH COMPLETELLY DEPRESSED, YOU COULD STILL FEEL THE GEARS GRINDING, NOT TO MENTION THAT IT TOOK ALL MY STRENGTH TO SHOVE IT INTO THIRD. EVEN THE SALESMAN THAT WENT WITH ME SEEMED TO AGREE. HOWEVER THE MUSTANG EXPERT AT THE DEALERSHIP CLAIMED THAT THAT WAS NORMAL AND THAT FORD HAD TO GO TO A HEAVY DUTY TRANSMISSION/CLUTCH TO HANDLE ALL THE POWER.
JUST FOR COMPARISON, I NEXT DROVE A S281 SALEEN, SUPERCHARGED WITH THE 5 SPEED . THIS FELT CONFORTABLE AND EASY TO SHIFT. NOW I MUST SAY THAT I HAVE PREVIOUSLY OWNED EVERYTHING FROM MUSTANGS, TO CORVETTES, AND CAMAROS, BUT HAD NEVER HAD THIS OCCUR BEFORE. I'VE BEEN DRIVING STICKS FOR OVER 30 YEARS. ANY ONE ELSE HAD ANY SIMILAR EXPERIENCES OR IS THIS A UNIQE SITUATION? I'M READY TO CANCEL MY ORDER AND GET SOMETHING ELSE.

Black2003Cobra

Established Member
You say this was just a problem w/ the 2-3 shift? It could very well be that this particular car you test drove does have a problem. (Bad synchros perhaps?) I've not seen anyone else complain of this yet. I've had absolutely no grind during any shift. My 2001 Cobra had the 1st-2nd grind, but my '03 is fine. If you could test drive another one, that's what I'ld suggest.

needspeed

Interested Party
Established Member
I just got my 03 and the tranny is great, it should never grind going into gear unless you forget to push the clutch in.

Unfortunately I got the Vibe problem. Still happy to have this car, it just sucks that they can come from the factory with a major defect.

Keep looking you will find a good one......Steve

StreetSnake

Established Member
Did you say it took all your strength to go from 2nd to 3rd? And you dont think something was wrong with it.

King Cobra 03

Established Member