turbo??

99turbocobra

Established Member
Hey i am new to this 4.6 motors. I have a 99 cobra with a vortech SQ blower. My mods are 03 cobra fully forged block, 03 cobra intake cams, spec III clutch. I am wanting to put a turbo on and take the blower off. My question is how hard would it be to turn the stock header around and use them? I did that on my 5.0 for a twin set up. Also do you think I will need a different K memeber to get the 3 inch downpipe though? Thanks.

99turbocobra

Established Member
I know you can put a turbo on a 4.6 pro turbo kits has one. I was just wondering what all had to be moved. I thought I might need a different k member but y the coil over conversion. If it get a kit through them they supply all that I think.

Booyah

Cantankerously Blunt
Established Member
Originally posted by 99turbocobra
I know you can put a turbo on a 4.6 pro turbo kits has one. I was just wondering what all had to be moved. I thought I might need a different k member but y the coil over conversion. If it get a kit through them they supply all that I think.

I was saying you can't to turn the header's around and use them. You need a tubular K-member because there simply isn't enough room to run any piping with the stock K-member. Most kits require you to move the powersteering reservoir.

Last edited:

SVTHorsnake

Banned
how's abouts you save yourself the time and money and buy yourself a P1-SC and that way you'll have your BOV and your Front mount... why else would you want a turbo???:shrug:

Booyah

Cantankerously Blunt
Established Member
Originally posted by SVTHorsnake
how's abouts you save yourself the time and money and buy yourself a P1-SC and that way you'll have your BOV and your Front mount... why else would you want a turbo???:shrug:

Because they outflow centrifigual superchargers at lower RPM's, which equates to lowend torque and broader torque curve, which equates to quicker acceleration, which equates to handing people their ass'. :thumbsup: :coolman: