undercoating 03

H.B.T.

Established Member
i'm new to the sight and have a question. are any of you getting your 03 undercoated and the paint sealed, if your not why not thank's for your feed back in advance

Black Cobra

Established Member
You'll have to school me on the "paint sealed" thing. As far as the undercoating goes... I'm not doing it because by car won't be exposed to salt. If I lived near the sea or in an area that put salt down on the road, I definately would.

Weasel

Established Member
No way I would undercoat again. I live in MA and a *lot* of salt is used here during the winter.
Back around '85 it was all the rage around here; it was a must have. I bought a new T-Bird V8 and of course had it undercoated. After a few years rust was appearing around the rocker panels, quarter panels, etc. What appeared to be happening is that the material was helping to trap salt and debri not allowing the salty stuff to rinse off very readily. In '97 I bought a new T-Bird Sport and of course I didn't get it undercoated. After 5 1/2 yrs. it's still in great shape with 114,000 miles on it (trading it for my Cobra) and it's been many years since I've heard anyone around here talking about having their cars undercoated.
So, my recommendation is that you not have it done. Especially down in VA where the amount of salt used there is nothing in comparison.

Black2003Cobra

Established Member