Upgraded Clutches & Flywheels...

GrayGhost Dog

Established Member
I have been researching clutches and flywheels for the past 3-4 months. Originally concentrated on a twin disc clutch kit(McLeod RST or RAM Dual Street 9.5), then I thought they might be a little overkill for a car with no real power adders. Now I'm looking at an Exedy Mach 500 clutch kit paired with a Fidanza Aluminum or Steel flywheel. Any suggestions?

BV600

Established Member
Im in the same boat, need one for the procharger setup.
I talked to Monster Clutches and they have a clutch coming out really soon. Ive had Monster in my GMs and they are kick ass clutches.

BlackMamba3

Established Member
Even without a big power-adder, the McLeod RST clutch with a steel flywheel is a great choice. Keeps the stock feel and can handle up to 800hp, just in case. I've never driven a car with an Exedy clutch. I know there's some guys running them on these cars and they seem to like them. It's really your call.

98ss88mm

Established Member
dont run an aluminum flywheel... i have an RXT, but its in the garage lol.

bcolenj

Established Member
McLeod all the way. The RXT actually feels better than stock and can handle 1,000HP.

Hows the noise/chatter especially with the clutch disengaged or around 2k RPM. I have a SPEC twin and its VERY noisy at 2k rpm as well as at idle if i depress the clutch.

Benchracer

Established Member
What about a boss clutch? Why doesnt anybody run those? Seems like they will handle a ton of power and I will bet the pedal feel is softer than most aftermarkets. Plus the price dont seem too bad either.

SID297

OWNER/ADMIN
Administrator
Hows the noise/chatter especially with the clutch disengaged or around 2k RPM. I have a SPEC twin and its VERY noisy at 2k rpm as well as at idle if i depress the clutch.

You can get a small about of chatter at take-off, which gets better with more miles on it. That's about it though.

z28th1s

The 5.0 is Back!!!
Established Member