USAF Flying Job

usafimj

Established Member
Anyone on here have a flying job in the Air Force. Right now I'm aircraft maintenance and just ready a new job. By the time I leave my current duty station (Germany) I'll be at my 10yr mark and God willing I'll be a Tech Sgt (E-6). Looking into cross training into Flight Engineer (FE), Loadmaster, Aerial Gunner, Air Battle Management (ABM), or UAV Sensor Op even though you don't fly for this job. Wouldn't mind going to Spec Ops side of the house. Just looking for any info on any of these jobs? What you like/dislike? Pros/Cons of the aircraft you fly on?

Thanks,
Israel

JetmechF16

Under Pressure
Established Member
Premium Member
Top Shelf Gentlemen
I'm a UAV Sensor Operator that cross-trained from Maintenance 5 years ago. If you want to wear flight suits, get a form of flight incentive pay, and do some pretty cool shit yet never leave the ground then UAVs is where it's at. However if you actually want to travel alot then you're better off with a real flying job.

It's a bit ridiculous that we are subject to all the same rules as real flyers though, still can't do anything without the flight doc's say so.

The best parts of this job are classified so obviously can't discuss anything here. I can answer any general questions you have though.

usafimj

Established Member
I'm a UAV Sensor Operator that cross-trained from Maintenance 5 years ago. If you want to wear flight suits, get a form of flight incentive pay, and do some pretty cool shit yet never leave the ground then UAVs is where it's at. However if you actually want to travel alot then you're better off with a real flying job.

It's a bit ridiculous that we are subject to all the same rules as real flyers though, still can't do anything without the flight doc's say so.

The best parts of this job are classified so obviously can't discuss anything here. I can answer any general questions you have though.