• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Vortech Install - Power Pipe Question

Discussion in 'SN95 Cobras' started by 97RioRed4V, Jul 19, 2014.

  1. 97RioRed4V

    97RioRed4V Member Established Member

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    I am on the final stretch of the Vortech install and I am confused. I have a used kit and it came with power pipe. I have no clue who made the power pipe. There is no hole or fitting to connect the bipass valve. Am I missing something??? What did they connect it to? Please help!
     
  2. stiffler197

    stiffler197 Hollow Point Racing Established Member

    Messages:
    268
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    mass
    The previous owner of you kit most likely vented to atmosphere
     
  3. 97RioRed4V

    97RioRed4V Member Established Member

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    If he did that is that bad? I would think the car would run rich when you let go of the gas pedal. Sorry not an expert. Does that sound right? Because thw mass air meter already measured that air.
     
  4. Mach828

    Mach828 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,417
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    So the MAF is in the power pipe but there is no spot to connect the bypass tube?
     
  5. 97RioRed4V

    97RioRed4V Member Established Member

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Yes that is correct. There is one hole for air temp sensor. Two welded outputs for the passenger side valve cover and for the idle air.
     
  6. 97RioRed4V

    97RioRed4V Member Established Member

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    output_zpsemjvugpw.jpg [/URL]
     
  7. 97RioRed4V

    97RioRed4V Member Established Member

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    output_zpswieupslc.jpg
     
  8. brys00gt

    brys00gt Member Established Member

    Messages:
    274
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Location:
    RI
    It looks like that third hole is for the bypass return. Is it threaded ?
     
  9. 97RioRed4V

    97RioRed4V Member Established Member

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Just checked.. It is not threaded and reduces to smaller size. That is why I think it is for the air temp sensor.
     
  10. brys00gt

    brys00gt Member Established Member

    Messages:
    274
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Location:
    RI
    That looks like a grommet. See if it comes out it easy
     
  11. 97RioRed4V

    97RioRed4V Member Established Member

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    I am pretty sure I can take it out but it will be smaller hole than the 1" pipe. Are you thinking of threading a fitting or...?
     
  12. brys00gt

    brys00gt Member Established Member

    Messages:
    274
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Location:
    RI
    Yes that's exactly what I was thinking.
     
  13. ZeroDCX

    ZeroDCX Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    848
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    VA
    FYI, you should relocate your IAT sensor to the discharge piping for accurate timing retarding with elevated temperatures.
     
  14. 97RioRed4V

    97RioRed4V Member Established Member

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    As of now, is this my only three options:
    1. Buy a new power pipe or stock Vortech pipe.
    2. Have some one weld a 90 degree bung
    3. Discharge to atmosphere

    BTW the Vortech is a V2 with a 3.33 pulley.

    ZeroDcX Did you have to drill another hole in the Aluminum discharge pipe or plastic inlet for the IAT sensor?
     
  15. brys00gt

    brys00gt Member Established Member

    Messages:
    274
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Location:
    RI
    If your discharge tube is metal you may run into the same problem I did the tube heated up and was registering way too high Temps. On a 50 degree day it was registering over 200. My tuner moved th e sensor to my maf and haven't had a problem.
     
  16. 97RioRed4V

    97RioRed4V Member Established Member

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    The discharge out if the blower is aluminum and then plasric to the throttle body. Not sure I understand my what you mean by removing maf sensor?
     
  17. brys00gt

    brys00gt Member Established Member

    Messages:
    274
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Location:
    RI
    If your discharge tube is plastic you will be fine. Mine was metal and was heating up from the engine bay and giving false temp readings to the sensor. We removed the wires from the sensor and my maf had a provision for the iat sensor.
     
  18. SVTPete83

    SVTPete83 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,423
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Napa Ca
    If you are going to to some welding, set it up like mine.

    bth_IMG_0946.jpg
     
  19. 97RioRed4V

    97RioRed4V Member Established Member

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    SvtPete That is some serious weld job. Looks great. Since I will have to pay for the welding, that might might cost me the same as a new pipe.

    What about a blow through maf setup? Is there someone who sells all the parts as a kit?
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2014
  20. LDC2335

    LDC2335 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,997
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    +1, and do it before you get it tuned.
     

Share This Page