Whats wrong with hypertech??

BlackBeauty44

Snake bitten
Established Member
I just bought a 2003 Miner Gray Cobra and i'm in the market for a programmer but why does everyone flock to SCT and Diablo when the Hypertech gives the most horsepower and torque before swappping out the pullies?? Or am I wrong?? :shrug:

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
I don't have the answer to your question, but theres a chance that their tunes which have a result of more power is unsafe? I know in the diesel world there are some tuners you stay away from because they create a lot of power but your EGTs(exhaust gas temp) go threw the roof.

Matts00GT

Mongoloid Mike
Established Member
They use SCT or Diablo because tuners use SCT or Diablo. No one tunes vehicles with hypertech.

TClark22

Established Member
yes...grab an xcal and be done...

i believe horsepower tv tested the hypertech on an 03 cobra, first with bolt ons, then with pulley upgrade...

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oXeF4kZZ6jg"]YouTube - Horse Power TV - 03/04 Mustang Cobra[/ame]

jrandy

Established Member
i don't know if it was the hypertech tuner or not, but when the guy before me reflashed the ecu to stock, it fried the ecu.

TClark22

Established Member
just listening to the horsepower deal with hypertech...it sounds kinda wierd...

with just a tune it made 407rwhp...and with a 3" pulley it made 415...i would sure hope a pulley swap making 12psi over 8psi stock would make more than 8hp gain...shit i gain 35rwhp upping mine 2psi.

doesnt make sense.

rezarxt

free pizza man
Established Member
I use hypertech and it seems to get the job done. I can notice a difference on my bolt on mustang with the 93 power tune.

BlackBeauty44

Snake bitten
Established Member