Which ___ works best on the street AND on the track?

BlackStripes

Established Member
Damn, I have racing seats, roll bar, 6 point harness and I was going to put a racing steering wheel.. geez. Well, Not sure if I will change anything but driving 500 miles a year makes things a little more improbable ... :-/

N/Angel

Crazy Swiss Chick!
Established Member
Premium Member
interesting to read through... I decided to build a track car that can be driven on the street. Rollcage, racing seats, harness, no A/C, no radio, gutted interior don't bother me when I feel like driving a "racecar" to work, LOL!

David Hester

Established Member
Good article, Greg and pretty much what I've been preaching. Don't fub up your street car trying to make it look racy. Good way to get maimed or killed. Poop does happen. I work in a hospital, remember.
I did Atlanta Motorsports Park a few weeks ago in my street car. No harness, no rollbar, only change I made was some HP+ pads. (hate them on daily driver BTW)
I did have some fresh Nitto 555 I use on the street every day.
Trouble was, I was out with some full on racecars and being a racer....well, I TRIED to keep them behind me, impressing them with by driving prowless.
Not so much. Car was squirlly going into corners and I couldn't put the power down (to keep them behind me) coming out. Did catch several into turn 1 which surprised the heck out of me, but you could REALLY smell my pads. Would go in thinking "hope I don't rearend them, hope I don't rearend them".
Know that a street car on track is just that, a street car. You will not be able to keep up with even an average prepared race car by a driver that knows what they are doing. Just enjoy your car at 9/10's and watch your mirrors. And have fun.
maybe switching to synthetic blinker fluid would have helped...:burnout:

Last edited:

gcassidy

One more lap!
Established Member