WTF Blew the clutch ..... AGAIN!!

97SVTStang

Established Member
Alright someone help me out. This is the 3rd clutch in 6 months that I have blown. Are all these aftermarket clutch POS's. I have tried 3 different companies. The only one that lasted was the stock Ford clutch. The last one I bought was rated for 700 fwhp. Last time I had the car on the dyno it put about 430 fwhp. So I fall way under the rating of the last clutch.

I have tried Ford Racing, Centerforce, and the last clutch was a Ram 900 series. About the only company I havent tried is Spec. I am thinking Spec Stage III for this one. But it has to last me for more than a month. Its not pulling that tranny thats an issue its easy to get that tranny out, plus I am a mechanic so I have a lift and all needed tools (makes it alot easier) Its a money issue I cant afford a new clutch ever 2 months.

Is it the fact I am using a stock flywheel still. The last one did warn me about not using a lightened flywheel, I guess I should of listened. So whats everyone using?

Last edited:

97greensnake

cUban cRime wAve
Established Member
FWHP?>?> did you break in the clutches? or did you leave the mechanics peeling out ?>i replaceed my clutch over a year ago and its still goin strong...KING KOBRA clutch, resurfaced flywheel, 3 hook firewall adjustanble cable quad, new cbale...full setup

Last edited:

97SVTStang

Established Member
fwhp = fly wheel hp, and I am the mechanic (ASE certified and I work for Dodge) and yes I do break in the clutches. I think the nitrous is whats tearing them up. Unlike a supercharger where you get gradual power the nitrous i think is too harsh. The last clutch I put in held great, didnt slip at all. It just didnt last. I have never had a problem with slipping. When it goes it goes hard. Last one ripped the whole disc right of the rivets, cant wait to see what this one did.

Last edited:

94CobraPace

Established Member