02 Mustang GT

red3fidy

Established Member
Just bought a used 02 GT with 6800 miles on it. The car is basically brand new. The first thing I want to do is put flowmasters on it, but I've been reading about Bassani's lately. What's the gains from Bassani over Flow or vice versa?
I also would like to open the intake a bit by installing a K&N filter charger and maybe a different throtle body.
I'm new to the Mustang world, but a verteran in the Ford truck world, so any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
p.s. the cobra that is for sale is my girlfriends.

screwed

'Round And 'Round I Go
Established Member
The difference in hp between those two cat backs (or any two for that matter) will be negligable, especially for a mostly stock car so I'd get the ones that sound the best to you. I wouldn't spend the money on the cai. I'd get a drop in K&N, timing adjuster, and a shifter to start with. Maybe one of the plenum/tb combos too. Just depends on where you intend to take the car in terms of power.

red3fidy

Established Member
I didn't think there wouldn't be much of a difference in Hp. I guess I was more concerned with sound. I like the Flowmaster sound, yet I haven't heard bassani sound.

I think the GT has a stock H pipe, is there any benefit to getting an aftermarket pipe?

How about websites with performance upgrades for Mustangs only?

Thanks again.

poopnut2

Lifelong Vagetarian
Established Member
No cats= better flow=more power. Even two cats on a high flow pipe will increase your power a tad. Of course flowmaster sounds good but bassani sounds better IMO.

DEADLYSVT03

Established Member
my son has an 02 gt worked. his exhaust consist of high flow cats, magnaflow x-pipe, and mac cat back. if you want an exhaust system that gives you nice numbers.. i would go that set up, and the sounds is really mean. i like the sound of his car better than my 03 cobra.

but it is all up to what you like. just my 2 cents

DEADLYSVT03

Established Member