• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

2012 GT base stereo sucks... What have you done to improve?

Discussion in 'Interior and Exterior' started by petersen302, Apr 4, 2013.

1. petersen302

petersen302 New Member Established Member

Gents,

I love everything about my 2012, except the stereo. It has the base 4 speaker stereo. The thing is terrible. Any little bit of bass just distorts right out. I have been doing audio installs in my cars for over 10 years, and this is by far the worst stock stereo I have encountered.

My question is, what have you guys done to improve the sound? I am debating throwing new speakers in and seeing what that does. I would like to know if anyone has crossed this road, and if I could learn from it.

And before someone says "Why listen to the radio? You have a 5.0!" I daily drive this. And we do long trips as well so a nice sounding stereo is welcomed.

Thanks!

2. charba951

charba951 BOOSTTD Established Member

I got a louder exhaust

Jebadias likes this.
  3. Nuar

Nuar Active Member Established Member

A lot of people simply swap out speakers. Others add a sub in the trunk. Some do a full blown head unit with navigation using some of the available dash kits.

Stock speakers are 2ohm i believe so keep that in mind when shopping around. 6x8/5x7 is the speaker size for both the door and the rear deck.
    You can get cheap adapters for your aftermarket speaker connection from Metra (ebay) so you dont have to slice up your factory wireing.

4. StangMan04

StangMan04 Member Established Member

+1 :beer:

5. WildOne12

WildOne12 New Member Established Member

That worked for me too... Didn't buy a Performance Car to listen to the stereo!

6. 2010 Red&white

2010 Red&white Member Established Member

Do the speakers first and you may be surprised. Get some good quality ( Polk , etc.)speakers.

7. Jenkins

Jenkins Member Established Member

I had a full rockford fosgate system put in for 800 with 2 12s and a custom box.