96 mystic cobra value

chao5.0

Established Member
i'm looking at a 96 mystic cobra for sale but the only issue i'm having is the value of the car. it doesn't have the factory wheels and the front bumper, passenger side fender and door scraped a guard rail so they have to be refinished but i'm not sure what the cost is to have the mystic paint redone. i have yet to see the car in person but i would rather not waste my time if the car is not worth going look at, can anyone give me a ball park idea if i should even consider this car. this is the picture i was sent this morning and the asking price is $4500:

2012-05-04_16-48-39_721.gif

chao5.0

Established Member
he doesn't list the mileage but does say it has been street raced alot so even if its low mileage its probably well worn. mechanical problems aren't a big issue for me because i was a tech for a few years until i got hurt so i know my way around a car, as long as the drivetrain is good and doesn't need major work i can handle it right away. if this doesn't work for me then i'll be looking at new 5.0's again.

chao5.0

Established Member
I say you walk away from it.

thats what i'm starting to think because even if i got it for $3k there is at least $1k in refinishing and repairing the right front damage and there is no guarantee it will match the rest of the car when done. now if the rest of the car is perfect then yes $3k is a good deal but since its been raced i'm sure it will need some work else where. i just wanted to see if the rarity of the color and car was worth spending the money to own but apparently not.

encasedmetal

WHINO!
Established Member