AAS in automotive tech, Welding and Machinist

Oceanside78

Established Member
So, some may remember, I had a thread that ran for a while, "college paid for 4 years, you study what?" (G.I. bill) I got great ideas and honed in on engineering. I think I've concluded that it's not for me. The math is torturous and I'm bored. I've hung out with a few engineers whom were friends of friends or relatives, and that's just not my crowd. I just don't think I fit that bill.

Of the 3 AAS' I mentioned, I've nearly got all the pre reqs done, and I REALLY want to weld. Automotive is a huge passion of mine (obviously, I'm here, right?!) and CNC machining is down right awesome to me. I'm a disabled vet, so between the GI bill, disability and my wife's income, I can afford to go to school for quite a while. If I go during summer, I can get all three AAS degrees in 2.5 years.

I guess my question is, what would you pursue career wise with all three of those AAS'? I'm mainly doing the automotive for personal knowledge and builds, while welding is absolutely awesome IMO and I think Machining is an art. What do you guys think? Pay seems about the same in regards to welding/machining but what has the bigger growth potential? What has the best job security?

Any thoughts/suggestions are GREATLY appreciated. I'm very open minded and want all the good with the bad. Thanks guys!

Condor21

Established Member
I am currently finishing up my last semester of Welding Technology. I also have a Mechanical Engineering Technology degree.

The demand for welders is HIGH! They can't find enough welders. I've had more opportunities with my welding degree then I did with my Engineering. I was in the Lego store yesterday, trying to find the welder lego figure. I got to talking to a lady and she is a Senior Manager for a welding company and told me to email her my resume.

jblood37

Established Member