All you running wide tires are doing it wrong!!!!

stkjock

Corn Powered 900 HP!
Established Member
KISS:

softer rubber = better grip
wider = better grip

get a wider and softer compound tire = you'll hook better

IMO a 305 or 315 on a 10.5 rim

acobra03

Established Member
Ok, so I read every post in this thread and have more questions now then before I started reading. On a stock 18inch rim am I better off running 275's or 325's? I'm a novice driver. Mods, 2.6 pulley, CAI, UCA and LCA's and factory gears. Am I better with 275/45 or a 325/40? I'm thinking the wider lower profile tire but now I"m not sure. :shrug:

niceguyyy01

Established Member
Yes, the guy is right, but like someone said.... we are not dealing with all-out race cars that are designed to run a smaller tire, we are dealing with 4000lb cars designed (more or less) for road style racing. I ran OL10.5 a few years back, my car was a double frame rail 4-link car and yes it was faster with the 10.5's, but that is how I set the car up ie: boost controller, suspension, weight placement, etc.

A wider tire may slow you a little, but it makes hooking the car consistently easier. Why do you think the bracket cars that go 9.90 or even 8.90 use 33x15's? Sure the car would be faster with a 33x10.5, but if the track is not perfect and more importantly they don't have the suspension tuning skills.... it might hook one time, then not the next.

I guess my point is this: If you are looking for every last tenth and can dedicate the time (and money) to tuning the suspension for the track conditions... then you'd be silly NOT to use the skinnier tire (275 vs 325 or larger).