Alpine INE-Z928HD 8 Inch & Alpine Perfect Fit

joey-roma

Established Member
Okay , so lets start at the beginning . I have been eying the Alpine INE-Z928HD 8 Inch & Alpine Perfect Fit Kit for about a year now. I just couldn't wrap my brain around the HVAC being up top and the screen being mounted in the lower area. But after seeing one in a 2012 Mustang it looked so good I had to have one . In a manual the screen is perfect for viewing / interacting with . The Automatic shifter is a bit large for my likes and blocks the screen . I have a manual so we were all good .

Went over to my local install shop that I have been doing business with for over 10 years. They have always done the most Azz Kicking jobs ever , despite what all the negative yelp reviews say. Had the head unit , steering controls , rear camera, Sirius sat antenna installed in a couple of hours. Looks amazing !

Here comes the part where we fall into that wall in the Twilight Zone episode that the little girl gets lost in ...

Turn the car off , turn the car on , no power to the head unit or HVAC controls . Scratch heads for a while , double check wiring , all good . Start up , works fine , turn car off , wont power up again .

I call Alpine , and speak to one of their tech guys , he informs me that this Perfect Fit Kit ( Model KTX-MTG8 ) Does not , and will never work properly with the INE-Z928HD in a 2013 Mustang due to changes that Ford made on the CAMBUS in 2013. When I asked him why then , in the entire universe is this advertised as working on 2010 and up Ford Mustangs , he replied that they wrote the copy for the " 2010 and up " in 2012........ ( I grind my teeth)