Amsoil signature series or Dominator?

Silver_Serpent

Established Member
Looking to switch to a 10w-30 now that I have my 170 degree thermostat and heat exchanger installed in my gt500. Curious as to which type of amsoil oil would be more recommended in that weight for a 2012 gt500 with about 650 rwhp?

Silver_Serpent

Established Member
I go about 5k a year. Mostly a weekend and road trip car that is run hard occasionally. I am leaning toward the RD30 for sure.
Thanks for the recommendation!!

DNT H8

Established Member
Just a heads up... Most Amsoil reps will steer you clear of Dominator for anything other than a track car, apparently Dominator does not have the same properties as signature series for any type of real milage. You would have to talk to a rep for the specifics...

DNT H8

Established Member
I put 10/30 signature series with amsoil filter in my 5.0 that gets 8,000 miles a year. My 1000 mile a year Fox gets dominator.

Silver_Serpent

Established Member
Is dominator a 100% full synthetic like the signature series?

I am still considering the 10w-40 also ... just not sure how much the 170 thermostat is really going to affect the viscosity.

UnleashedBeast

Engine Lubrication Guru
Established Member
Just a heads up... Most Amsoil reps will steer you clear of Dominator for anything other than a track car, apparently Dominator does not have the same properties as signature series for any type of real milage. You would have to talk to a rep for the specifics...

Dominator doesn't have as much active additive contained in the formulation when compared to Signature Series, but it has more than enough for a 5,000 mile interval.

Serious oval track racers beat this stuff up weekend after weekend. They send it in, and the TBN is sufficient for continued use.

I ran it for 2,000 miles in my GT500, still had more than enough additives for 5,000 miles.