Anyone have experience in Lawn Care / Cutting (as money on the side)

How much would you pay to have your grass cut (w/ weed eater and blowing)

Votes: 6 40.0%

Votes: 2 13.3%

Votes: 3 20.0%

Votes: 3 20.0%

Votes: 1 6.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

rust0r

Established Member
Hey,

I know there are a few of you here that have your own law care businesses, I've searched and read over a few past threads as well. I am just wondering if anyone can give me some tips or things to be aware of before starting.

Basically I'm a university student during the semester (still work a fair amount), and full time during the summer; I'm looking to earn a little extra pocket money while still being able to enjoy the nice weather.

I'm thinking of tackling 10-20 lawns on a weekly basis, seems to be $20 per lawn is a fair price for some average Joe to do it. Does anyone have any suggestions for pricing/packaging? (Would you do cutting and trimming together, or separate, etc). What about money collection, what have you guys done if you come by to cut the lawn and the owners aren't home, do you go back later for money, get it next time, etc?

Just looking to keep it to myself right now, if after this year it seems like there is enough business then I might look to grow it a bit, but for right now I'm just looking to get my feet wet and try it out myself.

I'm also tossing around an idea for referrals if I feel I can take on extra business, ie: refer someone in the neighborhood and your next cut is free or something to that effect

I'm mainly looking to go a few neighborhoods over from mine and do some door knocking during the day, looking for some older individuals/couples that aren't up to doing the simple cutting/trimming themselves anymore.

Only foreseeable initial costs I will encounter will be a decent mower and weed eater/whipper snipper and gas to operate them, both will fit in my car for transport.