AP Racing vs Brembo

Force4.6

Twice Bitten
Established Member
I was wondering if any of you guys had any experience with AP Racing and there new kit for Mustangs. It looks like a solid caliper but I am no expert and would like to know how it would stack up against the Brembo Cobra R kit. I would be using it for track days as well. Thanks for the help

Here is a link to the kit:
http://www.apracingusa.com/pressrel.asp

Quick comparison for a Brembo Lotus caliper:
http://www.apracingusa.com/competition.asp

nightstalker865

Established Member
I think a couple of things that everyone likes about the cobra R kit have to be price and pad avalibility.

I didn't look very far into the site did it ever give a price on this AP setup?

BlackStripes

Established Member
AP Racing has probably more racing history than any other brand.

I have no idea how it compares with the Brembo kit, but i will tell you that when you factor the price, check the price of rotors and pads... depending on how many events you attend, they can get PRETTY expensive.

TroyV

Brakes only slow you down
Established Member
I agree. especially since the 00R kit can be gotten for between 800 and 900 depending on where you look.

Since Brembo 00R solid blanks are around 65 bucks per on tirerack and can be found cheaper elsewhere, there's really no reason to buy a 2 piece rotor unless you really want them.....or you are a super track rat and you keep burning up your wheel bearings due to heat conduction from the rotor hats of a solid rotor.. I do a few events a year, and accumulate roughly 2k track miles in that time period, but I don't think I do nearly enough to justify the cost of anything more than the 00R brakes....and they suit me fine.

With a good set of track pads, the performance of the 00R's is really fantastic.

Force4.6

Twice Bitten
Established Member