BOOST NUMBERS WITH DIFFERENT INTAKES

NC Cobra

Established Member
With my 03 stock I was getting 8lbs boost. I now have the Magnaflow C/B and recently installed the Amazon Racing setup with the AFE filter and heat shield.

I am now getting exactly 8lbs boost- not 1 oz more. I see posts in here about guys getting up to 10lbs boost with just an intake change. Am I misunderstanding something? Should I expect to see higher boost with this intake mod?

This is my first blower motor so I am new at this. I would love to get 2lbs more boost and would be willing to change my intake again to get this. Any comments would be appreciated.

NCCobra

NickSVT03

Established Member
Well, I always saw exactly 8 lbs of boost before I installed the UPR CAI. Now the needle stays in between 9-10. I have noticed a change. I am not trying to sell the upr kit by any means, but I think it is awesome.

gchronis

Get used to avatar
Established Member
Hey, can the densecharger guys chime into this? Did you guys also get a boost increase? Haven't really noticed anything with the drop in K&N, but I'll check again.

david smilovic

Established Member
The blower is ran on a mechanical ratio between 2 fixed sized pulleys.I can see restrictive stock lowering and chocking off boost but IMHO no intake will increase it unless it was over chocked from the factory.Even then 2 Lbs. without pulley change ,well call me skeptical.Good Luck Dave S.
PS I do over 100 forced air induction installs yearly at my shop and boost can vary by maybe 1/4-1/2 lb..Dave

slythetove

Down the rabbit hole....
Established Member
What filter is used on the UPR? Does it come with it?

All it shows on their site is the bent tube.

Last edited:

bender460

Established Member
I think the big difference is in the throtlebody and intake. I think it was Jim V. who seen the same amount of boost on his car (3.10 pulley,throtlebody and intake) as a stock set up with a CAI and a 2.93 pulley:shrug:

NickSVT03

Established Member