Boosting soon...advice?

milgt

Established Member
Posted on another forum but wanted to see what advice I could get from you guys here as well. So, I've got my order secured with beefcake for a vortech tuner kit and I really just wanted any advice that I could get from guys that have experience with the kit. I plan on installing myself with some help from friends. I've done supercharger installs on previous vehicles and helped some friends with turbo swaps and other misc. stuff so I have some experience around bolt-ons, not a complete newb around an engine bay lol.

Sof Top

boost junkie!
Established Member
The Vortech/Paxton install is very straight forward, easy IMO. Just take your time on the install.

92hatchlx

Colorado Rocky Mountain High
Established Member
Reische 170 t-stat and new antifreeze would be my suggestions. Had a ton of casting sand and black specs in my antifreeze when I drained it. I filtered with a coffee filter and re-used it, would have been much easier just to dump it and use new fluid though. May as well add the t-stat for some extra insurance. Will be much easier to do during the SC install than to take it apart and drain the cooling system again. I'm getting one soon.

milgt

Established Member
Reische 170 t-stat and new antifreeze would be my suggestions. Had a ton of casting sand and black specs in my antifreeze when I drained it. I filtered with a coffee filter and re-used it, would have been much easier just to dump it and use new fluid though. May as well add the t-stat for some extra insurance. Will be much easier to do during the SC install than to take it apart and drain the cooling system again. I'm getting one soon.

Do we have issues with cooling with the stock T-stat once boosting? I know you said for insurance but is there some other reason?

milgt

Established Member
The Vortech/Paxton install is very straight forward, easy IMO. Just take your time on the install.