bought a Porter Cable 7336, now what pads for polish/wax

primo

Established Member
I know there are some piant gurus in here. I finally bought a PC 7336 and now I need to know what pads I need to buy for removing swirls and waxing, and where can I buy them. BTW, this has a 6" backplate. Thanks, Gene

Jpjr

Established Member
thanks for posting this :) i just spent another $40 there on sonus shampoo, UV-sunblock for leather seats, and rim cleaner. he he

metaman

Established Member
T BAG said:
I know there are some piant gurus in here. I finally bought a PC 7336 and now I need to know what pads I need to buy for removing swirls and waxing, and where can I buy them. BTW, this has a 6" backplate. Thanks, Gene

Clay bar the entire car first to make sure that there is nothing embeded in the paint that could come loose when buffing and cause some severe damage.

Only work on a small area at a time. I am not a professional, but I have polished a black car before. The products you use are just as important as the pad you choose. Since I don't have a lot of expertise, I will usually use some 3m compound at relatively low rpms first. The wool pad is probably the best choice for this step. After I am done with the compound I wash the entire car with some liquid dawn and water.

The foam pad will generate alot of heat, and could burn the paint.

Then I will use a fine cut polish like maguires no.7. at a higher rpm. After this I will wash the entire car again with dawn.

After these two steps most of the swirl marks should be gone. This is where I make it easy on myself. Instead of polishing again to get the last of the swirl marks, I will apply a product by Zaino Brothers called Z5. This stuff is kick ass. The polymers in this stuff fill in any of the imperfections left in the clear coat with a 98% opticly pure, microthin layer of polymer. Put about 4 coats of this stuff on. Every coat will make the black even blacker.