Cosmology thread

TJSwoboda

Established Member
Okay, since the other thread turned into angels dancing on pinheads, I want to give this another crack in its own thread.

The universe: Finite but unbounded, bounded, or infinite? Will there be a big crunch or a heat death? Is the universe's expansion accelerating, or was time passing at a different rate in the images we're looking at from 45 billion light years out, when the first stars had just formed?

The Inflation Theory postulates that in the early billionths of a second after the Big Bang, this is exactly what happened: that space expanded at a rate of speed far in excess of the speed of light. Only massless particles can travel at the speed of light. Anything with mass, even a neutrino with the least possible mass we know of, can't travel at the speed of light, it must go somewhat slower. But space has no speed limit.

It's been a while since I studied it, so I don't recall how fast the inflationary expansion was, or how long it lasted. But I do recall that because of inflation, we can only "see" a 13+ billion radius of the actual universe. since much of it is much farther away, the light has not yet had time enough to get here so we can see it.

If I understand correctly, calculations with what we understand of the Inflation Theory indicate that the universe is finite but unbounded, and is about 3x10^23 the size of the observable universe, right? How popular are other hypotheses, infinite universe etc.? I know the entire universe could, theoretically, be smaller than the observable universe, but again if I'm remembering correctly it's been proven that it has to be at least 98.5% the size of what we can see, and that figure has been climbing.

I don't like the idea of infinite matter and energy, going on forever until you're statistically likely to run into another Earth, but it is favored by some cosmologists, right?

TheCPE

Skeptic
Established Member