Do I have a possible lawsuit?

crizzut

Established Member
Long story short, I live in California and I work in a restaurant. The servers closing the restaurant are responsible for checking all of the sidework of the servers who are not closing. I completed my sidework but the server would not sign me out to leave until I did a portion of her work and in doing this portion I would be violating a health code. The girl wanted me to place the tins we have with butter and sour cream into the refrigerator and leave a small number of tins above our main food window. These portions of butter/sour cream would not be refrigerated or on ice therefore breaking the California health code section 110960. The other server got the manager involved because I refused to do this and violate this health code. The manager told me to do what the other server said, I explained to him that it would be a critical violation of the health code and I refused to do it. The next day that I worked I was pulled aside by the same manager I was then told I would be suspended for being insubordinate. During this sitting I documented everything that I had said to him stressing that I would be in violation of code. The case has been sent to our corporate office as me being suspended with the possibility of termination. If I do happen to get fired for this Would my case hold water? If not did I make any mistakes that would hinder a possible case? thanks

PS Thanks to anyone that disagrees with the people who put me in this position but I really would like to only have people who know the law to leave posts/advice. Nothing personal, again I appreciate any support but the lower the number of posts that I need to scan through to find legal advice the easier it would be on me. Thanks :rolling:

rexisme

Established Member