Do you clean your engine???

Am I crazy? Do you clean your engine compartment every time you wash the car?

• You're definitely not crazy - doesn't everyone do this every time they wash their car??

Votes: 184 39.8%
  • Crazy - no, Obsessive? - yes - once every month or two cleaning under there is plenty for me!

Votes: 241 52.2%
  • Yeah, you're crazy - who cares if the engine compartment is clean!

Votes: 25 5.4%
  • Hood? what's a hood? I'm a driver, not a mechanic.

Votes: 12 2.6%

• Total voters

dmreitz

Established Member
Lansing, IL (Chi. Suburb on Indiana border)
Ok, am I crazy? Am I the only one who actually pops the hood when I wash my car and cleans and shines up the metal and plastic in the engine compartment? ...or does everyone do this?

I just want to keep this baby looking like I just got it!! :)

Gatorac

Established Member
Here's an easy way to keep it looking like new under the hood.

Everytime you wash the car hose out under the hood real good. Then spay everything down with armour all foaming tire spray. Keeps it looking great and the dirt won't stick.

Petzuk

White Term
Established Member
Griot's has a good engine cleaner... Costly, but it does a good job, and leaves a pleasant "engine" scent (whatever that means).

:shrug:

King Cobra 03

Established Member
Originally posted by Petzuk
Griot's has a good engine cleaner... Costly, but it does a good job, and leaves a pleasant "engine" scent (whatever that means).

:shrug:

i got there quick shine and tire detailer kit to day, that s&#t worked great, looks better then when i brought it home from the dealer!( my idiot wife even saw the diffrence):)

ygohome

Bullz
Established Member
I detail the engine every time I wash the car. But I havn't tried spraying any engine cleaner or "armorall like" products on it. I just use a damp rag and a couple cans of compressed air to get the hard to reach spots.

Vetteater

Established Member