Drivewise braking stats a crock?

YELOSNK

Established Member
About two weeks ago I installed Allstate's Drivewise device. I figured, hey, I'm a good driver, my previous job of 7 years involved driving around patients with brain injuries from auto accidents, who you can imagine were quite sensitive to poor driving, and they never had anything but good things to say.

Yet in less than two weeks of this thing I have 4 "hard braking" and 2 "extreme braking" events. I can't recall a single damn one of 'em and all I've done in the car is drive to work and back. In hindsight I'm guessing this is because my commute to/from work primarily involves 55mph roads with numerous stoplights.

Anyone else have/used Drivewise and had frustrations with the braking?

DHG1078

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Established Member
I don't have any experience, but I wouldn't put it past any of the companies to calibrate the devices to be overly sensitive so as to make it easier to jack up your rates.

KingBlack

I'm more stupid than I post
Established Member
my question is how does it know you didnt do any extreme breaking to avoid an accident?

it cant....

DSG2003Mach1

Established Member
Premium Member
Weird, the progressive snapshot one beeps at you based on how hard you break. My wife tried it, it didn't take a lot to get he first warning beep

ford fanatic

Four Eyed Freak
Established Member
I had one through Safeco a few years back for about 6 months, it was pretty dead on. I knew when I was getting dinged with a violation because I knew that I hit brakes hard.

One thing I didn't like was that I was getting dinged for "late night driving" and I was coming home after midnight from work...it assumed I was out partying I guess?

My favorite was when I got my ranger stuck in the snow and I had about 100 "fast accelerations" which sent my record of events into fail mode lol.

GT Premi

Well known member
Established Member